Board of Directors

The Board is comprised of selected “Friends of HIC” within the coalition.  The Board makes policy, provides direction for the Working Teams, and supervises the fiscal policies and activities in support of HIC purposes, objectives and Mission. The Board meets monthly.

Please contact any Board member if you would like to present an immunization issue at a Board meeting.



Judy Strait-Jones (2017-2019) – President
The Hawaii Immunization Coalition is unique in that it is one of the few organizations in Hawaii that works with all immunization partners to increase immunization rates across the lifespan. We’d love to have you join us!
Janelle Jinbo (2017-2019) – Treasurer
Janelle is a family nurse practitioner in various health settings. She is a part of the military Joint Vaccination Work Group and has worked at/with the Hawaii Department of Health. She is interested in promoting vaccinations for all ages.

Gwendolyn Navarrete KlapperichGwen Navarrete Klapperich, CPLP (2017-2019) – Secretary
Gwen is the Curriculum & Instructional Design Manager for the Office of Continuing Education Global Learning & Development Program at Kapiolani Community College. As a community advocate and parent of a young man with autism, Gwen and her family support the Autism Science Foundation’s efforts to provide comprehensive scientific, peer-reviewed research and education to both providers and the public.


Maricel Abad, RN (2017-2019)
Maricel is a Public Health Nurse with Hawaii’s Department of Health, who works with high-risk and special needs populations.  Her goal is to get families into a medical home and to assure that clients receive recommended immunizations to prevent diseases. She has been a Clinic Manager for the Stop Flu at School Program since 2007.

___________________________________________________________________december-16-hairCeleste Baldwin (2017-2019)
Celeste is currently Tenure Track Nursing Faculty at The University of Hawaii Maui College.

fb-photoForrest Batz, PharmD (2017-2019)
Forrest serves on faculty at the UH Hilo Daniel K Inouye College of Pharmacy. He strongly supports efforts to make vaccines easily available for the health of everyone in our community.
300px-no_image_available-svgNatascha Ching, MD (2017-2019)
Information forthcoming.
mrdcMay Rose Dela Cruz, DrPh (2017-2019)
May Rose is the Co-Project Director of ‘Imi Hale Native Hawaiian Cancer Network and creates local health education materials to increase cancer screening and awareness. She also conducts research on increasing HPV vaccination rates in Hawai‘i.
Dee Helber (2017-2019)
Past HIC President Dee is a retiree from the Hawaii State Department of Education. Her extensive experience in the field of immunization and education is invaluable for the coalition.
fullsizerenderYukie Lloyd (2017-2019)
Yukie is a PhD Candidate in the Department of Tropical Medicine at the UH Manoa and current President of Student Immunization Initiative, an active student-led organization. As a clinical microbiologist, she strongly believes in vaccines for disease prevention and providing correct information and knowledge on vaccines is essential.


Gail Ogawa (2017-2019)
Gail has been a Public Health Educator with the Hawaii State Department of Health Immunization Branch since 2001.  She works to promote immunizations for children, adolescents, and adults.

Thaddeus PhamThaddeus Pham (2017-2019) – Web Manager
Thaddeus is the Adult Viral Hepatitis Prevention Coordinator for the Department of Health, making sure that ANYONE at risk for hepatitis A or B gets the vaccinations they need.  He strongly believes that everyone deserves to access the vaccines that will protect their health.